Cam Newton Hauls in Heisman, 3 Other Awards

Written by Gil Alcaraz IV on December 13, 2010

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is presented annually to the outstanding player of the year, decided on primarily by sportswriters and previous Heisman winners. The Heisman is considered the most prestigious of all NCAA football awards. Only a select few of college football’s players have ever had the honor of being presented with this 25 pound symbol of excellence. This year, the former Heisman winners welcomed Cam Newton, quarterback of the Auburn Tigers, into their elite fraternity.


For Newton, the entire 2010 season was nothing but a Heisman highlight reel. After transferring from Blinn College to Auburn in 2010, Newton immediately took over the starting quarterback position, and for good reason. In 13 games, Newton threw for 2,589 yards and 28 touchdowns while compiling a passer rating of 188.16. His impressive passing stats were only the tip of the iceberg, however. Using his outstanding athleticism and evasive running style, he amassed 1,409 rushing yards on 242 carries, adding 20 touchdowns along the way. This phenomenal combination of proficient passing and elusive running made for one non-stop nightmare for defenses. Whether he was shredding defensive secondaries like he did against South Carolina for 335 yards and four touchdowns, or dashing past linebackers for big gains on the ground like he did against Kentucky for 198 yards and four touchdowns, Newton was unstoppable. When the season was over, and Auburn was 13-0 and headed to the national championship game against the Oregon Ducks, it was clear that Newton deserved to be named the recipient of the Heisman Trophy. Despite speculation on character concerns and constant controversy, Newton still won the voters over and took home the Heisman in a landslide.


And as if the Heisman wasn’t enough, it won’t be the only hardware that Newton will be able to add to his trophy case. He also was honored as the winner of the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award, both for the best player of the year, as well as the Davey O’Brien Award for the best quarterback in the nation.

Gil Alcaraz IV

Gil is the owner of the Minnesota Vikings blog, The Viking Den, and an editorial writer for Lakers Nation. Having followed the NFL Draft for years, Gil has had a knack for naming some of the big surprise players to make it in the NFL. Gil is also a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

Recent posts by Gil Alcaraz IV