O’Brien award semi-finalists announced

Written by Will Spencer on October 26, 2009

From the FWAA 10-26-09

FORT WORTH, Texas (Oct. 26, 2009) – The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) announced today its 2009 O’Brien Semifinalist List. Narrowed down from all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks, the list highlights 15 individuals who will vie for the oldest and most prestigious award honoring the nation’s best college quarterback. The 2009 O’Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: ACC (1), Big East (2), Big Ten (2), Big 12 (3), Conference USA (1), Independent (1), Mid-American (1), Pac-10 (2), SEC (1) and the WAC (1).

2009 O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley FR USC Pac-10
Daryll Clark SR Penn State Big Ten
Jimmy Clausen JR Notre Dame Independent
Jacory Harris SO Miami ACC
Case Keenum JR Houston Conference USA
Dan LeFevour SR Central Michigan Mid-American
Jake Locker JR Washington Pac-10
Colt McCoy SR Texas Big 12
Kellen Moore SO Boise State WAC
Tony Pike SR Cincinnati Big East
Todd Reesing SR Kansas Big 12
Zac Robinson SR Oklahoma State Big 12
Ricky Stanzi JR Iowa Big Ten
Bill Stull SR Pittsburgh Big East
Tim Tebow SR Florida SEC

“We are proud to recognize this group of young men for their performances on and off the field,” said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O’Brien Foundation. “The commitment, sportsmanship and leadership qualities exemplified by these quarterbacks truly embody the spirit of The O’Brien.”

The Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, selected The O’Brien Semifinalists, with the Fan Vote accounting for 5 % of the total vote. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, his reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. For a complete listing of the Selection Committee, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as Finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon CST on Nov. 22. Finalists will be announced on Nov. 23. The Fan Vote accounts for 5% of each round of the voting process.

The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Will Spencer

Will is the founder and President of Draft Breakdown & has been scouting draft prospects since 2002. His work has been featured in numerous publications, including the USA Today Draft Preview Magazine, the official website of the Baltimore Ravens, Ravens Insider and The Orange and Brown Report. Will has previous playing experience as a defensive end in the AFA, is currently a member of the Football Writers Association of America and graduated from the SMWW Football Scouting course in 2009.

Recent posts by Will Spencer